Thursday, March 14, 2013

Finnish metal band Negative take one year off

Jonne Aaron performing at the Madrid 2011 show.

In an interview published by finnish magazine, Iltalehti,on February 5th, Jonne Aaron, leader of emotional rock'n'roll band, Negative, announced that the band will be taking a year off. Though the decision was hard to make, Jonne believes that on the long run this will benefit the group, and they will come back even sharper next year. 
The singer, which has gained enormous popularity after participating in the musical program Vain elämää confirmed via Facebook that he will be publishing a solo CD this spring, followed by a tour.

Created in 1997, Negative has published 6 CD's so far:  War of Love (2003), Sweet & Deceitful (2004), Anorectic (2006), Karma Killer (2008), God likes your style (2009) and Neon (2010). The rock'n'roll group is currently made up by Jonne Aaron (voice), Antti Anatomy (bass), Jay Slammer (drums), Mr. Snack (keyboard) and Hata Salmi (guitar).

The band's last concert will take place in Salo, Finland on March 15th. All their shows for the summer of 2013 have been cancelled.

Leer en español: La Huella Digital

Sunday, March 10, 2013

HIM to publish new album in April

Love Metal band, HIM, have finally confirmed the release dates of their upcoming album "Tears on Tape". The CD will be released in Finland on April 26th and the rest of Europe on April 29th. USA and Canada will have to wait one more day, (April 30th), for the album.

The recording and subsequent release of "Tears on Tape" went through several setbacks as Gas Lipstick, the group's drummer, became ill and incapable of playing for several months. Furthermore, in 2011, the band severed ties with their long time record company, Sire/Warner.

Though Seppo Vesterinen, HIM's manager, assured that the band was still alive and looking for a new record label, rumours abounded about their termination. It wasn't until the summer of 2012 when Ville Valo, lead singer and composer, announced that they would start recording something new in September that the fans breathed a sigh of relief. A few months later, a compilation album,  "XX – Two Decades of Love Metal", was released with a new song "Strange World", originally from american artist, Ké.

Recorded in the Finnvox Studios with the collaboration of producer Hiili Hiilesmaa and mixer Tim Palmer, "Tears on Tape" consists of 13 songs and will be released in Europe through Vertigo Berlin (Universal Music Group).

The group, currently made up by Ville Valo (voice), Linde Lindström (guitar), Migé Amour (bass), Emerson Burton (keyboard) and Gas Lipstick (drums) is the only Finnish band to have ever achieved Gold certification in the USA.

As of yet, no tour dates have been notified in Spain, though some festivals, such as UK's Download Festival or Germany's Mera Luna's Festival, have been confirmed.

Tracklist for Tears on Tape

1. Unleash The Red

2. All Lips Go Blue

3. Love Without Tears

4. I Will Be The End Of You

5. Tears On Tape

6. Into The Night

7. Hearts At War

8. Trapped In Autumn

9. No Love

10. Drawn & Quartered

11. Lucifers Chorale

12. When Love Starts To Die

13. Kiss The Void

En español: La Huella Digital